Meet Kathy

Posted: December 27, 2012 in People that Inspire, Uncategorized

As I have stated before in the past, when I started my blog and page it was in hopes of being able to inspire and motivate others as well as to keep for my own accountability. I also wanted to have people involved sharing their stories, experiences, thoughts etc to have their chance to motivate others as well.

First feature is Kathy who follows along with me and here is her story on why she started her journey 🙂

“I was never an extremely physically active person growing up. I was competitive in gym class, but rather than join sports team, which seemed to be routed in popularity, I was more interested in theatre. I was better at it, and more driven by it. Sure, you have to be physical in theatre – dance rehearsals, stunts, voice and movement exercises – but it was never anything that led me to being much more than an average (or above average) weight.

I’ve tried a few times to get on track. Many years ago I joined a gym with a boyfriend, and the next month he go really hurt on the job and couldn’t go anymore. Even though I attempted to go myself, I had no idea what I was doing, and spent more time taking care of him, going to university and holding down a part time weekend job to pay for university. I’ve never been overly enthusiastic about enjoying the look of my body, and have tried to devote more time to changing it for the better, but endless streams of sickness, self-consciousness and unsupportive friends/family have aided my in a feeling of “I shouldn’t even try”.

And then my little brother got engaged, and I learned I’d be wearing a rose pink bridesmaid gown.

I detest pink. It is the only colour that is put on high for being a light version of a more basic colour. Light blue or light green or light yellow don’t get their own special name or status, so what the hell is so great about light red? I’ll take real red any day.

I decided the only way I could pull off this dress was to get myself in shape. I had about 9 months to the wedding when I decided to make changes. I joined a gym. I’ve been reading a lot about fitness and health. I try to make better eating choices. For the last couple months, I have been on an European Adventure – a six month trip around Europe with my awesome boyfriend that we planned for when I finished my college diploma. That means I have about 4 months until we get back to Canada, and about two weeks after that until I’ll be showing off the pink dress. My progress is slow – I haven’t seen many changes (and I don’t have a scale or measuring tape, so I haven’t been able to check figures), but I am trying, and sticking to getting workouts done in our apartment, currently in Greece.

When I get home, I just want those who love me to see a change. I don’t have to lose all 50lbs of my extra weight before the wedding – as I intend to keep working after that event. I just don’t want to look back on my brother’s wedding photos and cringe at how out of place I look. I was able to finish the Two Hundred Squats challenge (200 in a row, no breaks) today, so that has to count for something, right?”

———

Thank you Kathy for sharing your story 🙂 We are all here to keep help support you – keep you motivated and on track!  Slow progress is better than no progress! Keep up the good work and keep us posted on the results of your pink dress!  As you are on your journey, Miss Grumpy here also needs to shed a good 30lbs as well! xoxox

You can follow Kathy along at her blog here:
http://edinburghbound.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/grumpy-girl-fitness-guest-post/

Comments
  1. […] fit. Although I have several, I shortened the list and my responce is the first of a series on the Grumpy Girl Fitness blog. Check it out by clicking the […]

Leave a comment